My Curation Engine

Since my last post Curating on #dcurate, I have been musing on my “Curation Engine” while looking at ways to make it more dynamic. With at the back of my mind this quote by G. Siemens : Knowledge has become a process rather than a product.

My first intention was to map this curation process with some Mind mapping tools. After a few unsuccessful attempts, I finally found this “Ripples” template from Prezi and thought it was appropriate for the story I wanted to tell.

This particular story is about my journey into digital curation as a possibility to support my continuous personal/professional development, enrich my 2.0 contribution, nurture my PLN and – along the way – help some of my peers/friends look by themselves at how they could adopt a similar approach for their own needs.

You can use this link to the presentation if you are not able to open it straight from here.

Taken out of context, this engine might look quite mechanical and a bit “gadgety”. Although I am well aware that curation is only one part of the equation; what Julian Stodd calls Social Leadership. It seems to be one essential part though, if we want to make more sense and share our stories. Finding our ways among the myriads of softwares and apps out there is also part of the learning process in my humble opinion. To try new things and actually take control of them – instead of being used or overwhelmed by them – could also help reduce some anxieties about the adoption of collaborative tools in the workplace, whilst increasing digital literacy and social density.

Having said that, I would like to insist that this “engine” is based on my own personal and ongoing exploration. How I try to navigate online, aggregate information and make sense to what I search/encounter. This engine is still under construction (and will remain so for a while…). It works for me as a “beta vision” to help me clarify my intentions, create the right habits and become more consistent.

It is mainly inspired by :

– The Seek-Sense-Share model developed by Personal Knowledge Management (PKM) expert Harold Jarche.

– The 5 Rhythms Map as devised by Gabrielle Roth, where Flow / Staccato / Chaos / Lyrical /Stillness are the main gateways. That movement meditation practice has infiltrated many areas of my life, including my learning process as you may notice if you read other posts in this blog.

– All the resources shared by @burrough and @martincouzins and all the discussions from the 300 participants during our online course  How to be an effective digital curator? – which I completed a few days ago. Again a big thanks to the organisers for this opportunity to learn.

Would you have any suggestions, questions or feedback about this Curation Engine, I would love to discuss them with you here below.

This entry was posted in Digital Curation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

